# NORTH DAKOTA STATE INVESTMENT BOARD MINUTES OF THE

**JANUARY 3, 2025, SPECIAL BOARD MEETING (VIRTUAL)** 

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Kelly Armstrong, Governor, Chair

Dr. Rob Lech, TFFR Board, Vice Chair

Thomas Beadle, State Treasurer, Parliamentarian

Rep. Glenn Bosch, LBSFAB

Joseph Heringer, Commissioner of Unv. & School Lands

Pete Jahner, Investment Professional

Cody Mickelson, TFFR Board Adam Miller, PERS Board

Joe Morrissette, Director of OMB

Dr. Prodosh Simlai, Investment Professional

Gerald Buck, PERS Board, Art Thompson, Director of WSI

MEMBERS ABSENT: Sen. Jerry Klein, LBSFAB

STAFF PRESENT: Scott M. Anderson, CIO

Eric Chin, Deputy CIO/Head of AFM

Rachel Kmetz, Fiscal/Investment Operations Mgr.

Missy Kopp, Executive Assistant

Sarah Mudder, Communications/Outreach Dir.

Jan Murtha, Executive Director

Emmalee Riegler, Procurement/Records Coord.

Chad Roberts, DED/CRO Ryan Skor, CFO/COO

Sara Seiler, Supervisor of Internal Audit

GUESTS: Mary Kae Kelsch, Attorney General's Office

Hope Wedul, HRMS Members of the Public

#### **CALL TO ORDER:**

Dr. Rob Lech, Vice Chair, called the State Investment Board (SIB) special meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. on Friday, January 3, 2025. The meeting was held virtually.

The following members were present representing a quorum: Gov. Armstrong, Treasurer Beadle, Mr. Buck, Rep. Bosch, Commissioner Heringer, Mr. Jahner, Dr. Lech, Mr. Mickelson, Mr. Miller, Mr. Morrissette, Dr. Simlai, and Mr. Thompson.

### **ACCEPTANCE OF AGENDA:**

The Board considered the agenda for the January 3, 2025, meeting.

IT WAS MOVED BY MR. MILLER AND SECONDED BY TREASURER BEADLE AND CARRIED BY A VOICE VOTE TO APPROVE THE AGENDA AS DISTRIBUTED.

AYES: COMMISSIONER HERINGER, TREASURER BEADLE, MR. MILLER, MR. BUCK, REP. BOSCH, MR. THOMPSON, DR. SIMLAI, MR. MICKELSON, DR. LECH, MR. MORRISSETTE, MR. JAHNER, AND

**GOV. ARMSTRONG** 

**NAYS: NONE** 

ABSENT: SEN. KLEIN MOTION CARRIED

## **GOVERNANCE:**

#### Election of Chair:

Treasurer Beadle nominated Gov. Armstrong for Board Chair.

IT WAS MOVED BY TREASURER BEADLE AND SECONDED BY MR. THOMPSON AND CARRIED BY A ROLL CALL VOTE TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS AND CAST A UNANIMOUS BALLOT FOR GOV. ARMSTRONG AS BOARD CHAIR.

AYES: MR. MICKELSON, COMMISSIONER HERINGER, MR. MORRISSETTE, MR. THOMPSON, TREASURER BEADLE, DR. LECH, MR. JAHNER, MR. BUCK, REP. BOSCH, MR. MILLER, AND DR.

SIMLAI

**NAYS: NONE** 

ABSENT: SEN. KLEIN MOTION CARRIED.

## **Executive Search Committee Report and Recommendations:**

Dr. Lech reviewed the actions taken by the Committee to find an Interim Executive Director (ED). The Committee recommended Ms. Jodi Smith as the finalist for Interim ED. Dr. Lech outlined Ms. Smith's experience and recommended her salary be kept at the current ED salary. The Board assigned Ms. Seiler as the agency contact to extend the offer on behalf of the Board. Board discussion followed.

IT WAS MOVED BY DR. LECH AND SECONDED BY TREASURER BEADLE AND CARRIED BY A ROLL CALL VOTE TO OFFER MS. JODI SMITH THE INTERIM ED POSITION AT THE CURRENT ED SALARY.

AYES: REP. BOSCH, COMMISSIONER HERINGER, DR. SIMLAI, MR. BUCK, MR. MORRISSETTE, MR. MICKELSON, MR. MILLER, TREASURER BEADLE, MR. JAHNER, MR. THOMPSON, DR. LECH, AND GOV. ARMSTRONG

NAYS: NONE

ABSENT: SEN. KLEIN MOTION CARRIED

Dr. Lech reviewed the Committee's recommendation for the permanent ED and CFO/COO position which will be vacant after Mr. Skor resigned. The Committee recommends issuing an RFP for a search firm to recruit for the ED and CFO/COO positions. Ms. Murtha explained that the use of the search firm for the CFO/COO position would be to provide a list of candidates to RIO staff who will complete that hiring process.

IT WAS MOVED BY DR. LECH AND SECONDED BY TREASURER BEADLE AND CARRIED BY A ROLL CALL VOTE TO APPROVE THE USE OF AN EXECUTIVE SEARCH FIRM FOR BOTH THE PERMANENT ED AND CFO/COO POSITIONS AND TO DELEGATE AUTHORITY TO THE EXECUTIVE SEARCH COMMITTEE TO ISSUE THE RFP, SELECT THE FIRM, AND DESIGNATE FINALIST CANDIDATES FOR THE ED POSITION.

AYES: TREASURER BEADLE, MR. JAHNER, REP. BOSCH, MR. THOMPSON, COMMISSIONER HERINGER, MR. MORRISSETTE, DR. SIMLAI, DR. LECH, MR. MILLER, MR. BUCK, MR. MICKELSON, AND GOV. ARMSTRONG.

**NAYS: NONE** 

ABSENT: SEN. KLEIN MOTION CARRIED

## **ADJOURNMENT:**

With no further business to come before the SIB, Gov. Armstrong adjourned the meeting at 11:22 a.m.

Prepared by: Missy Kopp, Assistant to the Board